The 2023-2024 Cigarette License is open for online applications.
Welcome to the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services’ Cigarette Licensing Renewal Application. You may use this application if you would like to renew a retailer, vending machine or manufacturer’s representative license to sell cigarettes in the State of New Jersey.
For first time applicants, download the application here.
The State of New Jersey requires all sellers of cigarettes to be licensed. The annual fee for a retailer or vending machine license is $50 (per location). The annual fee for a manufacturer’s representative license is $5. The annual licensing period is April 1 through March 31.
To receive your Cigarette License, you must enter information about your business on the following screens and pay the annual license fee by credit card or E-check. If your business has outstanding State tax liabilities, you will be required to satisfy your liabilities before you submit your license application. You will be able to print your license at the end of your session.
To begin, please enter the first 9 digits of your New Jersey Business Identification Number.
In 2017, State law increased the minimum age for the sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking
devices from 19 to 21. It is a violation of the New Jersey tobacco law to sell tobacco products and
electronic smoking devices to a person under the age of 21. The State enforces this law through
unannounced inspections with violations resulting in graduated fines of $250, $500 and $1,000. Multiple
violations of this law may result in the suspension or revocation of your license.
Merchant education is an essential part of the front-line defense and prevention for youth tobacco use.
You can help STOMP Out Youth Tobacco Use by being a responsible retailer. This program is part of a
comprehensive approach to tobacco control and is considered a best practice to help reduce the non-
compliance rates in New Jersey. In the links below, you can find downloadable documents to help prepare
you to be a responsible retailer in your region. You can download the responsible retailer pledge,
merchant education script and educational materials.
If you have any questions, please email Tobacco Free NJ at
firstname.lastname@example.org. Tobacco Free NJ is
a non-profit coalition funded by the New Jersey Department of Health.